Ok, maybe I’m not always an awesome mom.  Sometimes I feel like just a mediocre mom.  Sometimes I feel like a good mom.  But when I have been up since 4:45 am, driven two plus hours in order to try to better my little family, and worked about three quarters of a day…and then have to come home and put together slightly complicated party favor bags…well, I feel rather like an awesome mom.

Tomorrow is Zack’s 10th birthday party.  Last Sunday was his actual birthday, if you remember, but due to a scheduling conflict at the bowling alley where we’re having the party we couldn’t have it last weekend.  Tonight, I’ve got seven bow ties to make, eight galaxy jello jars (http://bakingdom.com/2012/08/doctor-who-wibbly-wobbly-timey-wimey-jello-in-a-jar.html), eight more adipose marshmallow guys (no link, but I’ll provide a picture at the end of this post), and then put all of these things and some candy in the party favor bags.

Then in the morning, I’ve got to drive about 30 minutes or so to pick up the cake that I ordered, which is rather extravagant, but my son is worth it.  I have absolutely no clue what I’m going to do with the cake between tomorrow morning and tomorrow afternoon, but I’ll figure something out.  At 2 pm, I will start picking up children for the party.  I have two for sure that I have to pick up, but it may end up being three.

Somewhere between the morning and the afternoon, I have to squeeze in taking a shower and putting on my “costume.”  It’s sort of a Doctor Who themed party, if you haven’t noticed, so I will be donning a blue wig, blue gloves, and a blue T.A.R.D.I.S. t-shirt with black pants.  It’s not as cute as some T.A.R.D.I.S. costumes I’ve seen, but I like it.  Zachary will be playing the part of the tenth Doctor, so he has a Doctor t-shirt, which he will probably pair with jeans, not to mention his very stylish new glasses.

I am actually very amazed that I was able to pull this party together.  Twice this week, I thought I was going to have to cancel the cake and just lose the deposit at the bowling alley.  I would love to say it was by the grace of God that I’m able to continue with the party, but I’m not sure God would fully approve.  I’m sure He’s all for my son having a good birthday party, but I admit I went a bit overboard this year.  Zachary hitting the double digits felt like such a big deal to me.  It feels like his childhood is quickly slipping away.  He’s not so much my little guy anymore.  He’s my as-tall-as-me almost-a-teenager guy.  Seriously, the kid is one inch shorter than me, if even that much anymore.  And he’s ten.  Ok…I guess that would be more impressive if I had grown even a little since I was twelve.

Ok, enough bragging about how much work I have and am putting into the birthday party.  I need to actually get back to working on the party favor bags.  Below are some pictures of the adipose marshmallow guys and a bow tie.

1375024_541241489286705_333091525_n

 

1392669_541226512621536_21683125_n