Tags

, , ,

I’m sorry I disappeared for a while. My Zachary and I were dealing with some health issues of his that he would rather I keep private. (Although, if you don’t know me well, you have no idea how difficult it has been to keep quiet the past couple of months!) I’m learning to respect my now-preteen son’s boundaries. Which brings me to the point of this post: my son is a decade old!

Let that sink in for a moment. My only child has been around for ten years! I can’t even believe it’s been that long, but I also can’t fathom my life without him in it. He and I have been “just the two of us” for a very long time now.

I know this probably seems like an obligatory birthday post (granted, two days late), but this is pretty much the most exciting thing going on in my life right now. My son motivates me on a daily basis to try to be a better version of myself than I was yesterday. I hope I do the same for him.

This year started out with some serious family drama, but lately I’ve just been trying to focus on bringing joy into our house. I worked very hard this year to make sure Zachary had a memorable birthday. We celebrated on his actual birthday by going to Golden Corral, his favorite restaurant, and then enjoying a renaissance fair. This weekend, he’ll have a birthday party at a bowling alley. We couldn’t have it last weekend because the bowling alley was having a tournament.

I firmly believe in the old proverb, “It takes a village to raise a child.” I hope my personal “village” of family and friends knows how grateful I am for their help. Even though Zachary’s father has chosen not to be a part of his life, I’m not raising him completely alone.

If you followed my train of thoughts during this post, congratulations! If not, thanks for reading anyway. Now here’s some pictures of my “baby” for you:

image

image

image

