Tags

, , , ,

With the exception of me getting terribly sick the day after Halloween, both Zack’s birthday party and Halloween were epic this year!  We couldn’t have Zack’s party on his birthday weekend because the bowling alley we had it at was having a tournament, so his party was October 26.  I picked up the three boys that came, and one of my best friends brought her daughter.  The boys were, well boys.  They were rowdy, goofy, and a bit hard to control at times, but the most important thing was that they had fun.  To my knowledge, they did.  

Zack’s cake exceeded expectations by far! I had ordered a T.A.R.D.I.S. cake from Cakes by Tina in Bilox, MS (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cakes-by-Tina-Bishop/264424323658899), and it came out perfect! I will definitely be ordering cakes from them again in the future!  After we picked up the cake on the morning of his party, Zack and I saw that the comic book store by the cake shop.  It was free to attend, and Zack said he had never been to a comic book store before…which made me feel terrible!  

We went with the intention to not stay too long because we didn’t want the cake to melt, but I am beyond glad we went.  I got to meet Jeremy London!!!  As a professed geek and lover of movies such as Mallrats, that experience was so much fun!  He was very friendly, which is nice to say.  You never know what to expect when you meet a celebrity, but talking to Jeremy London was such a pleasure.  I made a comment that Mallrats coming up on almost 20 years makes me feel old, and he agreed (since he’s 10 years older than me).  The best part of that experience was getting my picture taken with him!  

Image

 

So even before the party, my day was off to an awesome start!  At the end of this post, I’ll include more pictures from Zack’s birthday party.  So glad we did it at the bowling alley!

Halloween, which is one of my absolute favorite holidays, was just about as much fun as Zack’s birthday and birthday party!  First, we went to the mall to trick or treat, which would have been a bust if it weren’t for the fact that we saw a guy in a great Doctor Who costume AND a toddler in a Doctor costume!  I seriously wish I had a picture of the tiny Doctor!  Other than seeing them, and getting complimented on my T.A.R.D.I.S. costume, we did not enjoy the mall.  We had to stand in a very long, very slow line to go to different stores and get candy.  One piece of candy each store was not worth standing in that line…but going to the trunk or treat at the church where I work certainly made up for that experience!  My boss had a seriously fantastic Halloween set up.  I was not expecting that from a woman who directs a Christian day care, but then again I work there, too, and I love Halloween!  Zack saw several friends from his summer camp there, and was amused that some of them didn’t recognize him at first with his glasses.  

As much fun as Zack’s birthday and Halloween were, I’m grateful for a short break so that I can get ready for Christmas.  I’m working on finding a second job so that Zack and I can have a good Christmas.  

And now for some pictures from Zack’s birthday and Halloween:

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

