Tags

, , , , ,

Today, my big, tall 9 year old started 4th grade.  I didn’t think I would get emotional, but then every song on the radio made me weepy. I know I drove him crazy this morning, but I asked my son to stop for a picture about every thirty seconds or so.  Ok, I didn’t really do that, but I wanted to…

And then IT happened.  My sweet boy, who rarely wants to be in a different room than me at home, requested that I not embarrass him.  I’m still not sure how to process that request, or the fact that he refused to hug me goodbye in front of his classmates. 

At that point, I guess I had two choices: make the situation worse for him by kissing all over his face and calling him some cutesy name, or make it worse for me by backing off completely.  I’m pretty sure I stayed firmly in the middle of those two options.  I just hugged him quickly then left.

image

