Tags

, , ,

wpid-2013-07-31-09.20.09_20130731092134101.jpg

I am an over sharer. I over share on Facebook.  I over share over the phone.  I over share in text messages.  I’m far too much of an open book, and always have been. 

This is in large part due to the fact that I am a very trusting person, and I want everyone to like me.  Well yesterday I learned the hard way that I can no longer “over share” certain aspects of my life, especially when it relates to Zachary.  My amazing, intelligent, sometimes complicated son has now developed a need for privacy. 

Yesterday I violated his trust by telling a friend something about him, and she pulled him aside to ask him about it.  I had no idea I could ever be so ashamed of my actions as a parent.  My sweet son was so betrayed and hurt by my actions.  I apologized, and he forgave me, but I will never forget it. 

Why am I sharing this with you now?  I guess for accountability, and so that I have a reminder in the future of what happened.  That is not a mistake I ever want to make again.  The last thing I would ever want is for Zack to feel like he can’t trust me.  He’s the most precious, important person in my life on this earth. 

