I was so naive the first time I held my sweet baby boy in my arms.  I really believed I could protect him from the pain of this world.  I thought for sure I could shield him from vicious people and awful events…I didn’t even think to look at the people around us.  Family.  “Friends.”

But none of us can truly escape pain in life, can we?  No matter how much I wanted my son’s childhood to be nothing but “snips and snails and puppy dog tails,” I have learned that so many things are out of my control.  I cannot control the family member who spreads vicious lies about me to lawmen, greatly hurting my son in the process.  I cannot control the father who hurt him physically, mentally, and emotionally in so many more ways than I care to list here.  I cannot control the bullies at school and in the neighborhood, who call my son names and force him into violent altercations.  I cannot control the teachers who do not understand him.  I cannot control the way he feels when he realizes that he has forgotten to do something important because of his ADHD, or how frustrated he must feel when I tell him we cannot do an activity because it costs too much money.

As the Man in Black said in The Princess Bride, “Life is pain, Highness.  Anyone who says differently is selling something.”

I don’t mean to be all doom and gloom here.  I still believe it is possible to rise above the pain that life serves us and become a happy, successful person.  I just wish there was a little less pain dealt to my sweet boy.  I fear that he will become jaded and numb…and if that happens, how will he enjoy that beauty that life has to offer? Image

