Famous Failures…Or Something I’m Good At.

I have seen this video before, and liked it, but today I needed it’s message.  Anyone who knows me well probably knows how much I have struggled to find stable employment since the Fall of 2009.  I went from a good job (not a great job, and not my dream job, but I was getting by) working full time hours to having no job in one day, and my search for a job started – and stopped – more times than I can count from that point.  I have had a temp position, a couple of waitressing positions, a call center position, a substitute position in a school cafeteria, various babysitting jobs, tried my hand at selling items online (with little success – certainly not enough to live off of), a pizza delivery position, and finally, a position with the United States Post Office.  

The post office position was a job that I was placing all of my hopes for a more secure financial future on…I had so many friends who had witnessed my struggle over the past few years wish me congratulations, and, as one friend told me yesterday, some of them seemed to start believing there might be hope for me yet.  Of course, it doesn’t come as a surprise to me that several friends have given up on me.  I have had friends choose to walk out the door of my life in recent years, often without any real explanation other than that I had “too much drama” in my life.  I wasn’t sure what I could really do about much of my “drama,” as most of it revolved around my struggle to keep custody of my son…a fight that I would gladly give up all of my earthly friends to win, if I had to…

Anyhow, most of that conversation can be saved for another post.  Right now my concern is the fact that I have lost out on an opportunity that I felt would change my life.  It has been decided that the post office is not the right fit for me.  So I find myself in a very familiar position, at a loss as to what to do with my life.  I still have the job as a pizza delivery driver, and I have some financial help for the next couple of months, so I don’t have an immediate fear of eviction from my brand new place.  However, I know how quickly two or three months can go by, so it would be a lie to say that I’m not filled with anxiety right now.  

This video is just a reminder that at 31, I still have time to make something of my life.  I can still make a difference in the world, or find financial security, or maybe even add to my family at some point.  My life isn’t over just because one job, no matter how great I thought it was, is not right for me.

