So life has been completely crazy since I last posted.  During our move, which took us from June 25 to June 29th to get through, my dog got injured and the plans changed for where we were supposed to be staying.  Then I found out that I was not going to be receiving the assistance previously promised to me by a family member – at least not until I met their “condition,” specifically that I find employment first.  I have no problem with that condition, but it was never given to me beforehand, and it means I have to stay with some kind-hearted friends (who were most certainly NOT prepared to take in me, Zack, and two pets) until I find a job and save up for a place, my relative changes their mind and helps me get a place before I find a job – as we had originally planned, or some money falls out of the sky and directly into my lap.  I’m guessing that money falling out of the sky is the least likely option.  

Just so you know, I’m not trying to be all “Whoa is me.”  I was just not prepared to be in this situation again…after living a year in a “luxury apartment” with my mother – with premium cable and internet, 4G network on my cell phone, and a queen sized bed.  It’s hard to go from that to sleeping on a small couch, and Zack sleeping on an air mattress every night.  I am incredibly grateful to the friends who took me in with just hours notice, but this is not how I want to live for very long.  

I’m not saying I have to have the apartment with granite counter-tops and all the above mentioned luxuries again.  I’d settle for a little two bedroom cottage…just so long as it was in MY name and Zack and I weren’t relying on the kindness of friends or family.  That is why I have spent countless hours applying for jobs online, as well as making lists of companies that require applying in person.  Later this week, I intend to go out one day with a handful of resumes and a smile to apply at the places that have requested that an in person application be completed.  

There is one other thing I am doing to try to get independent, but it required me to step out of my comfort zone in a big way.  I created a page at http://gofundme.com/ after a friend suggested it.  I have never begged for help online, and have even scoffed when others have done it.  I have asked friends for help before – like asking my friends now to let us stay with them until I get a job and a place – but this page is different.  I created it out of a real desire to get out of my situation.  I don’t want my son to look back on his childhood and remember bouncing from place to place because his mother couldn’t get it together.  He deserves better than that.  So at the bottom of this post, I have placed the link to my Go Fund Me page.  If you are uncomfortable with the idea, I completely understand.  But if you find it in your heart to donate, please do.  Even $1 will move me closer to my goal of getting a roof over my head in my own name.  

Imagehttp://www.gofundme.com/jenandzack

